The Organic Oklahoman

December 6, 2006

Dirt

Filed under: Dirt — Josh @ 6:47 pm

The dirt is cold but not dead. I saw fresh castings today so cheer up–even if its too cold for me to work in the garden the worms are still busy.

I figure I’ve put down twenty five cubic feet of ground up leaves per row in the garden plus at least 75% of a round bale of plain hay. Add garden waste and grass that grew up in the garden during the season and I think I’ve got a good leg up on the year’s dirt building.

Must find more leaves!

I’ve also got some mammoth clover for green manure this spring and some dwarf white clover for ground cover. I’m hoping to avoid weeds altogether this year…HA! Try not to laugh. This is, after all, an organic garden.

If nothing else I’m going to begin teaching the kids their botany and have them begin weeding with me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

