The Organic Oklahoman

February 12, 2007

Stove up

Filed under: Dirt, OO, Work — Josh @ 4:11 pm

So yesterday I got out and busted up some of my beds. I’ve got a little mini-tiller I use probably once or twice a year for cultivation so I started it up and used it to level off some of my raised beds to get them ready for green manure.

I am WAY stove up this morning. That’s Oklahoman for “sore and stiff”. That I am and it’s great. The first trip out into the garden for something other than just staring out the window at it was a good one. I got about two and a half beds leveled off and hope to do some more this week. If it dries out some. As it was I had to break out the muck boots–even with the mulch it was sticky stuff down in the paths.

It was cold enough I had to wear the Carhart jacket. Even so, I love this time of year. Last year I remember hauling a truck load of manure in the beginnings of a dandy ice storm. My wife thought it was nuts but the vegetables were fabulous.

Break out the motrin and sharpen the hoes. It’s gardening season!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

