The Organic Oklahoman

March 29, 2007

Mulch

Filed under: Dirt, Weeds — Josh @ 8:54 pm

I realize that to some there are few things more boring that dirt and plants and things that require patience. Thats fine with me, they can eat their skunky grocery store produce and be delighted when they find some that reasonably fresh–say less than a month in storage. Personally I’d like to grow my own as much as possible.

So I am.

One of the major obstacles to this is weeds. Well, in this part of the country its grass too. This ol’ pasture grass will get into a garden bed in just days. I’ve pulled a clump of grass out of a bed and tossed it over to the side of the garden and watched over a few days as it took root again. Arrrgghhh!

Anyway, one of the best ways I know how to keep this from happening is with mulch. I’ve had the best luck with a layer several inches deep of leaves covered with hay and stomped down really well. I tried sowing New Zealand clover in the paths last year and found that it doesn’t hold up well to my tromping through the garden.

This year I am also going to try adding newspaper to the mix. That is supposed to go a long way towards a weedless garden. I’m all for that.

OO

1 Comment »

  1. Well I know it sounds crazy but I’ve gotten into Masanobu Fukuoka’s one straw revolution thing…see below for info on him:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masanobu_Fukuoka

    i’m not sure I go all the way…but I did do the seedballing thing & I’m getting the most productive garden yet (i’m in cali so we start earlier)

    he’s anti-row…b/c a disease or insect that affects on plant, will affect the whole row

    the main idea is bio-diversity…lots of plants, close together, they don’t grow as big, but they grow strong…& then a cover crop…like a nitrogen fixing clover

    that’s what i’m doing anyway & i have to admit it feels great not to be fighting weeds & straight rows

    i’m also experimenting w/ putting some of the nicer looking edibles in the front yard…

    here’s an interesting article on that:
    http://www.oklahomafood.coop/edible.php

    and lastly…here’s a place for seeds:
    http://www.bountifulgardens.org/

    Comment by TJ — April 14, 2007 @ 2:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

