The Organic Oklahoman

July 9, 2007

Scythe Notes: Day 14

Filed under: Tools, Weeds, Work — Josh @ 7:16 pm

W0 ft3 sqft:2500

I learned a few more things about using a scythe this weekend.

The third thing is to keep the point even with the rest of the blade. When I get tired I have a tendency to let the front dip a little and it’s really easy to bury it in the ground or a tree root and maybe notch the blade if you’re not careful. The one necessary thing is that a scythe must be super-sharp so if I get winded I have to remember to stop and clean and sharpen the blade and get a breather while I’m at it.

The fourth has to do with lining up. The scythe I bought cuts from right to left. This means that the grass I’m cutting is going to be in front of me and slightly to my right. So I try to remember to put my right foot just to the right of the cut line. Or, just inside the grass that I haven’t cut yet. This lines me up just about right and keeps me from leaving a line of taller grass at the end of my swing.

I think I drank a gallon of Gatorade this weekend. Oh it was hot out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

